Do you remember when Snapchat let other users see your list of Best Friends? The function was undoubtedly deleted for a reason, but according to a TikTok rumour that has gained a lot of traction, it will be returning on October 1 as part of the app’s 2022 improvements.
If you’re new to Snapchat, you might not be aware that the privacy setting prevents your Best Friends list from being visible to the rest of your contacts by default.
TIKTOK REACTS TO THE OCTOBER 1ST UPDATE’S BEST FRIENDS GETTING BACK RUMOR
Although, this wasn’t the case a few years ago, and the mere prospect of it returning has caused its users to become terrified, with some even wanting to completely cancel their Snapchat accounts.
SNAPCHAT’S OCTOBER 1ST UPDATE RUMOURS SURFACE
You shouldn’t be alarmed by what happens on Snapchat on October 1st, in our opinion, as the rumours of an unverified update appear to have originated on TikTok.
People seem to believe that the app will make its Best Friends function accessible once more in a few days.
Although it’s unknown how the rumours started, Snapchat hasn’t addressed them or made an official announcement announcing any upcoming updates to its platform.
Mangubaaz has asked Snapchat for a comment, but as of the time of writing, we haven’t heard back.
WHEN DID THE APP’S BEST FRIENDS LIST GO ONLINE?
Users of Snapchat could view each other’s Best Friends until 2015. The people on the list are those with whom you engage in the most snaps and chats.
Up to eight of your closest buddies could appear at once.
Anyone in your contact list could view who was on your Best Friends list directly on your profile up until the feature was replaced with emojis.
Your Best Friends list, which is now “just for you,” according to the Support page, can only be seen by you.
RETURN OF FEATURE TERRIFICES TIKTOK
The suggestion that Snapchat’s Best Friend function would return on October 1 is obviously unwelcome to TikTok users because they value their privacy above all else.
“I’m just waiting for the update where ppl can see what you have their name as then I’m going to be terrified”
one commenter says.
Another user said,
“Time to delete Snapchat.”
“NO no because this is going to break up so many relationships,”
one TikTok user commented.
Another person wrote:
“I’m running away from home is this is true”